I have been out of action for a while… away at a conference and then sick… then having to put together a timetable for my institution for next year.

I have enjoyed researching this current topic on facilitation, teaching and moderating. Leigh’s expressions were very real and express the struggles we may be finding in this course. It appears from my reading that facilitation is something that is not easy to achieve when we have been brought up with the ‘teachy’ style of education where the subject expert controls the information flows. This is becoming less and less possible with the access people have to information of all sorts on the web. So, in a web based environment I think there are differences to the terminology being generated/ reconstructed. What is learning anyway? Is it that I learned a certain amount of content or is it that I grew in my understanding, knowledge and social skills related to a feild of knowledge that actually networks with peoples attitudes, knowledge and actions? Facilitation in this environment feels like and sounds like being nudged gently in the right directions by the community with the possibility that someone in that community takes responsibility for the general direction of that. In our course that person could be Leigh. I may have said enough to prompt some responses from all of you on this…

